2015 NBA Postseason Awards

These are the 2015 NBA Playoffs Awards. They are highly prestigious awards that players desperately covet named after famous or infamous players and coaches who enacted the part in recent year’s past. I’m sorry if your favorite teams and players are not represented, but these awards are earned not given. Let’s dive in.

Allen Iverson Award (Given to the player who carried his team of role players to new heights)

Winner: LeBron James, Cavaliers

lebron pump

This one was obvious. When you’re in Game 6 of the Finals and you’re passing the ball to James Jones and J.R. Smith, you pretty much have this award locked up.

Tim Duncan Award (Given to the veteran player who raises his game in the playoffs)

Winner: Paul Pierce, Wizards


Duncan certainly could’ve claimed the award he inspired, but Pierce stole the show with his clutch shot making and classic Pierceonian[1] quotes.

Erik Spoelstra Award (Given to the coach who was perceived as a dumbass riding his best player’s coattails all season only for everyone to realize he’s actually a good coach)

Winner: David Blatt, Cavaliers.

Yeah, this is just starting to feel like the whoever is coaching LeBron award[2].

Bruce Bowen Award (Given to the player who gets under everyone’s skin in the playoffs)

Winner: Zaza Pachulia, Bucks

Scuffles, tussles and altercations became a regularity for Zaza against the Bulls. He comes across as one of those dudes who angers opponents by simply looking at them. Look at him. Are you angry? A little?


Leon Powe Award (Relatively unknown bench player who plays the game of his life and is temporarily the talk of the town)

Winner: Al-Farouq Aminu, Mavericks

Huh? What? The Mavs lost in five games, who cares about this? Al-Farouq Aminu cares! In all honesty, there weren’t many candidates out there[3], but Aminu’s Game 4 effort to extend the series was impressive. His energy and activity led to a double-double with 16 points and 12 rebounds to help Dirk and Mark Cuban avoid a sweep[4]. Kudos.

Tony Parker Award (Given to the player who is actually really good, but no one notices until the playoffs…and then they forget again until the next postseason)

Winner: Mike Conley, Grizzlies


Conley was spectacular in the Portland series, decisively outplaying Damian Lillard prior to busting his face. Conley made a triumphant return against Golden State to put his Grizzlies up 2-1 and everyone suddenly realized he actually means a lot to his team because he’s a top notch point guard. Then the Grizz flamed out and everyone will forget about Conley until next postseason.

Tony Allen Award (Given to the player whose relentless energy and defensive effort is finally appreciated because it’s the playoffs)

Winner: Matthew Dellavedova, Cavaliers

Allen was a strong candidate, but the award is freaking named after him, so Delly gets the nod for his 1.5 game effort where he suddenly became the best perimeter defender since Gary Payton, but then…well…let’s just leave at this: RIP Delly.

Dwight Howard Award (Given to the player who will blow you away one moment, only for you to be severely disappointed and dumbfounded the next as to why it couldn’t be sustained)

Winner: James Harden, Rockets

harden benched

The Beard edges out Blake Griffin and his customary disappearing act in the fourth quarter. Harden enables one to firmly believe he’s the best scorer in the league with little doubt in one game, only to bumble away 12 turnovers[5] in an elimination game the next. Ah, you remember. This is James Harden in a nutshell.

Robert Horry Award (Given to the unexpected dude who turns out to be FREAKING CLUTCH)

Winner: Andre Iguodala, Warriors


What credentialed role player found the ball in his hands late in game this postseason and buried a clutch shot? I couldn’t remember any either, so why not go with Iggy, the guy who unexpectedly flipped the championship series. Plus I’m sure Iggy would accept this award as graciously as he did the Finals MVP.

Tracy McGrady Award (Given to the player who shoulders the blame for his team coming up short again despite his amazing play)

Winner: Chris Paul, Clippers

Paul has become very well acquainted with type of award through the years, and this year was no different. He exhibited his usual blend of leadership and efficient play, but then that infamous Game 6 against the Rockets happened and then Game 7 happened, and then Paul was cleaning out his locker after another lost postseason without fully comprehending how it all transpired.

Rik Smits Award (Given to the player who helplessly attempted to defend a superhuman only to be dominated)

Winner: DeMarre Carroll, Falcons

Carroll’s junkyard dog mentality is admirable, but it didn’t save him from a thorough drubbing, courtesy of the King. On the plus side, it won’t keep him from making upwards of $10 million annually this offseason.

Mario Chalmers Award (Given to the player who thinks he is really good, but is actually pretty bad and makes fans want to punch the TV)

Winner: Dennis Schroder, Hawks


This was tight between Schroder, Tyreke Evans and Austin Rivers, but ultimately Schroder gets the nod because he was so infuriating coach Mike Budenholzer moved Shelvin Mack and his Butler pride ahead of him in the rotation…and Schroder still probably didn’t get the hint.

Kevin Durant Award[6] (Given to the player who shows promise, but exits the playoffs much too soon)

Winner: Anthony Davis, Pelicans

AD’s run of producing unbelievably superhuman basketball feats ended after four measly games. Couldn’t we have at least seen a Game 5? If only Steph Curry wasn’t Steph Curry and Tyreke Evans didn’t exist.

James Jones Award (Given to the veteran rides the bench all season to try to win a championship)

Winner: Kendrick Perkins, Cavaliers


Anytime I can include Perk in a write up, I’m going to do it, but he legitimately deserves this over teammates, Mike Miller and Shawn Marion. I mean aside from laying out Jae Crowder, what did he actually do during the playoffs?

Kevin Love Award (Given to the player that missed the playoffs, but we all wish hadn’t)

Winner: Russell Westbrook, Thunder


Russ always lives! It was straight up thievery we didn’t get to see Russ relentlessly attacking the basket with zero regard for the normal athletic restrictions of humanity. And those postgame press conferences where his outfits and fashion sense would’ve stole the headlines until he completely ripped apart media members with his death stares and irritated disposition.

That’s the conclusion of the 2015 NBA Playoff Awards. Congrats to all of the winners.

[1] Defined as of or resembling the antics of NBA veteran Paul Pierce.

[2] Scott Brooks had a shot at it multiple times except he never proved he was actually a good coach.

[3] Maybe Corey Brewer, but he’s more well-known than Aminu.

[4] Although after watching Dirk’s defense in this series maybe a sweep would’ve been better to put him out of his misery.

[5] Was originally 13 turnovers, but after review the league determined one wasn’t his fault. Thank God for NBA statistical reviews.

[6] This was young Kevin Durant, obviously.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s